Book Review: The Dreaming Stone

Jun 8, 2016 by

The Dreaming Stone

Book Review: The Dreaming Stone

Author: Louis Markos

Illustrated by : Angela Merkel

Publisher: Lampion Press

Every once in a while, a book comes along that is both educative as well as entertaining. Such a book is “ The Dreaming Stone “ by Louis Markos. While Louis Markos needs no introduction to some who are knowledgeable, and culturally literate, Louis is a scholar par excellence in the tradition of C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, and his books and his works have been very well received ( he has 11 books and two lecture series with The Teaching Company- The Life and Writings of C.S. Lewis; Plato to Postmodernism: Understanding the Essence of Literature, and the  Role of the Author ( available at www.teach12.com )

But onto the book itself. Alex and Stacy are the main characters in this book, and their adventures take them to Greece, and during their sojourn, they encounter a number of characters that once populated the country of Greece and that have lived on in mythology. Louis Markos takes us to the Acropolis, and re-introduces us to Hercules, Socrates, Icarus and Daedalus. In this treasure trove, we learn the correct pronunciation of various Greek words, and are re-introduced to those fascinating heroes of the past as well as the places of the past- Hades, the Underworld.  We all have some familiarity with some of these names- Agamemnon, Cyclops, Pegasus, but Louis brings these characters and mythological being to life, not only with an adventure for Alex and Stacy, but with important life lessons to be learned.

Louis Markos has the incredible ability to integrate the humanities into his stories- one is enthralled by the challenges that Alex and Stacy face- and then one is entranced by some lines from a poem “Tyger! Tyger! burning bright, In the forest of the night”.

This is the type of book that has to be read and re-read several times- first to get the proverbial “ lay of the land,” and also a refresher course on the people of mythology, and the lessons of mythology, and then again to savor the rich, robust texture of Louis Markos writing and storytelling, which again attempts to both educate and entertain.

The book is also richly illustrated which lends a good deal of pleasure to the juxtaposition of the action, and the lessons learned by Alex and Stacy. And of course, there is the mystery of the “ dreaming stone” which I will not get into here- but would encourage you to learn more about as you explore these ancient realms of Greece and the heroes of mythology.

For quick information – go to www.loumarkos.com  and learn more about his books and his attempt to educate the general public.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.