Sep 16, 2012 by


ACTION STEP:  Please check the list further on down the page to see if your Texas school district intends to “sell its soul for 30 pieces of silver” by applying for the Race to the Top federal funds.

Here is a list of the 64 Texas school districts, charter schools, regional service centers and others that have filed an intent to apply for the $400 Million Race to the Top (RTTT) federal funds that are to be spread across the country.

This federal funding from Obama’s U. S. Department of Education is being sent for the first time directly from the USDOE to the locals without passing through the state education agencies (such as the Texas Education Agency).

In other words, the USDOE that is forbidden to dictate curriculum or testing provisions for local schools to follow is doing just that!  This is yet another of Obama’s overreaching strategies to put even our public school children under the direct control of the federal government.

On Jan. 13, 2010, Texas Gov. Rick Perry and the former Commissioner of Education Robert Scott announced their decision that Texas should not enter the statewide Race to the Top competition for $700 Million because they knew the federal strings attached to the money would require school districts to follow the Common Core Standards Initiative.

Not to be deterred, the Obama administration and Sect. of Ed. Arne Duncan came up with a “work around” so that the RTTT funds (requiring schools to follow the Common Core Standards Initiative) could be sent directly to the local school districts in spite of being blocked by the state agencies.



Unfortunately, local Texas school administrators are ignoring the dangers of the federal strings and are salivating over the federal funding. Nationwide, there are 893 school districts (and other eligible entities) that have indicated their intent to apply for the RTTT’s $400 Million “work around.” The deadline for these entities to file their formal applications is Oct. 30, 2012.


This is what happens: Even though most of these local entities do not have a chance to receive the RTTT federal funds, the applications themselves end up driving school district decisions.



School administrators know their schools’ grant applications will not have a chance of being accepted unless the districts can prove the federally desired changes are already in place (or well on their way to being implemented) in their districts; therefore, the administrators, acting like little robots, configure their districts to match the USDOE’s agenda. They swear to do such things as implement the Common Core Standards, base teacher evaluations upon student improvement on the CCS assessments, and collect the personally intrusive information on students, parents, and educators that is required for the national database.


Thus, the USDOE ends up nationalizing the public schools without ever giving the districts the RTTT grant funding.  Entire states such as California applied for the statewide RTTT funds in 2011 and reconfigured their school district policies to match the USDOE’s application requirements; but in the end, California found out that their state was not selected to receive the RTTT grants.  The same outcomes will occur with the RTTT’s direct-to-school funding.  Many locals will implement the USDOE’s changes but will not receive the RTTT funds.



The “carrot and stick” used by the USDOE – RTTT federal funds:

[The arrows mean “lead to.”]

National standards  →  national assessments  →  national curriculum → national teacher evaluations with teachers’ salaries tied to students’ test scores  →  teachers teaching to the test each and every day  →  national indoctrination of our public school children  →  national database of students and teachers




Please go to the following links to read more about the Common Core Standards Initiative:


3.26.12 — “Two Education Philosophies with Two Different Goals” —


9.14.12 – “Nationalized Public Schools Almost Here in America” —



ACTION STEP:  Parents and taxpayers, please take the time to glance through this list of 64 Texas educational entities. If your school is on the list, you need to go immediately to the administrators and school board members in your district and demand that they not apply for these RTTT grants nor make any of the changes that the USDOE applications require schools to make to get the funds.






*This link includes the entire list of 893 entities in the U. S. that have indicated their intent to apply for the RTTT direct-to-schools federal grants.


Alief Montessori Community School

America Can dba Texans Can Academies

Atlanta Independent School District

Austin Independent School District

Beaumont Independent School District

Cedar Hill Independent School District

Comal Independent School District

Dallas Independent School District

Denton Independent School District

DeSoto Independent School District

Ector County ISD

Edcouch-Elsa Independent School District

Edgewood Independent School District of San Antonio

Edinburg Cons. Independent School District

Education Service Center 18

Education Service Center Region 12

Education Service Center, Region 20

El Paso ISD

Flour Bluff ISd

Frenship ISD

Gainesville Independent School District

Galveston Independent School District

Harlandale Independent School District

Harmony Public Schools

Houston Independent School District

IDEA Public Schools

Irving ISD

La Feria ISD

La Marque ISD

Lancaster ISD

Longview ISD

Lovejoy Independent School District

Lovejoy ISD

Lufkin ISD

Manor Independent School District

Mathis ISD

Mercedes ISD

Mexia ISD

Monte Alto Independent School District

North Forest ISD

Pasadena Independent School District

Peers for Positive Change / Medina Valley Independent School District

Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD

Port Arthur Independent School District

Raven School

Region One Educational Service Center

Region XIV Education Service Center

Richardson ISD

Rio Grande City Consolidated Independent School District

San Benito Consolidated Independent School District

Slaton ISD

Spring Branch Independent School District

Stephenville ISD

Sulphur Springs Independent School District

Tenaha Independent School District

Texas Media Literacy Association

United Independent School District

Victoria ISD

WALIPP-TSU Preparatory Academy

Weslaco Independent School District

Wylie ISD

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Related Posts


Share This

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.